Warm cafe interior with bistro tables, Arizona Food Handler Card

Arizona Food Handler Card: Who Needs One, Cost and Approved Courses

Arizona Food Handler Card: Who Needs One, Cost and Approved Courses

If you handle food for customers in Arizona, you will probably need an Arizona food handler card, sometimes called an Arizona food handler certification. Arizona does not set this requirement in one statewide rule for most employees. The county health department where your business operates sets the rule, so the card you need depends on where you work. This guide covers who usually needs one, what it costs, how to pick a course your county will accept, and the other filings a food business has to think about.

This guide is informational content, not legal or tax advice. County health rules and state statutes change. For a complex situation, such as forming an entity, structuring a food business, or handling employment questions, talk with a qualified attorney or CPA before you act.

Who needs an Arizona food handler card

For most employees, the requirement comes from county environmental health rules. Three Arizona counties require trained food workers, and their training provider rules differ:

CountyTrained food worker requiredTraining provider rule
MaricopaYesTraining must come from an ANSI-accredited provider
PimaYesCheck the current provider rule with Pima County
YavapaiYesTraining must come from an ANSI-accredited provider

Every other county sets its own rules. Search for your county name plus the words environmental health, then read the food worker section before you hire anyone or open for business.

What to look for on your county page

County environmental health pages vary in layout, so use this checklist when you read one:

  • Which workers must hold a food handler card.
  • The deadline for a new worker to get certified, commonly about 30 days from hire.
  • Which training providers qualify, including any ANSI accreditation requirement.
  • How long a card stays valid and how renewal works.
  • Whether the county charges a separate fee for the card, exam or inspection.

Deadline to get certified

Many counties expect new food workers to hold a card within about 30 days of hire. Treat 30 days as a common pattern, not a rule you can count on. Confirm the exact deadline on your county's environmental health page before your first shift.

How long a card lasts

Arizona food handler cards are usually good for 3 years. Put the expiration date on your calendar the day you receive the card, and confirm the renewal rules with your county, since the county decides what counts.

Cottage food producers

If you make cottage food products at home for sale, state law requires you to complete an accredited food handler course and keep that certification active (A.R.S. 36-932(C)). This is a state requirement, separate from the county rules that apply to other food workers.

Certified food protection manager

A food handler card is not the same as a certified food protection manager credential. Under the state food code, food establishments also need a certified food protection manager on staff. Ask your county which manager certification it accepts and how it expects that role to be covered at your location.

What an Arizona food handler card costs

Online food handler courses from approved providers commonly cost roughly $8 to $15. That is provider pricing, and it varies by provider. The table below separates the figure you can estimate from the costs you must confirm.

ItemTypical costWhere to confirm
Online food handler courseRoughly $8 to $15 (provider pricing, varies)Provider listing, plus county acceptance
County card or exam fee, if anyNot stated in this guideYour county environmental health office
Certified food protection manager course and examNot stated in this guideThe provider and your county

Compare the full price before you buy. Some listings show a low course price and add an exam or certificate charge at checkout, so read the final total first.

Approved courses and providers

The course that counts is the one your county accepts, not the cheapest option on a search page. Start with the county rule. Maricopa and Yavapai require training from an ANSI-accredited provider. For Pima, check the current provider rule directly with the county before you pay for a course. Once you know the county rule, screen each provider with these questions:

  • Is the provider ANSI-accredited, and does its course page say so?
  • Does the county list or accept this provider?
  • Does the price include the exam and a printed or downloadable certificate?
  • Does the certificate show a completion date and an expiration date?

Keep a copy of every certificate in your records. Managers and inspectors will ask for proof of training, and a receipt alone may not show that a worker completed the course.

How to get certified in Arizona

  1. Find the environmental health page for the county where your business or job is located.
  2. Confirm who must hold a card, the deadline and the provider rule.
  3. Choose a course the county accepts, then complete the training and exam.
  4. Save the certificate, note its expiration date and give a copy to your manager.
  5. Schedule renewal before the card expires, and recheck the county rule at renewal time.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming one statewide card works everywhere. Each county sets its own rule, so a course that satisfies one county may not satisfy another.
  • Buying the cheapest course without checking provider rules. Maricopa and Yavapai require ANSI-accredited training.
  • Letting a card expire. Track the expiration date for every food worker, not just the owner.
  • Stopping at a search for a state business license. Arizona has no general state business license, so the TPT license and any city license are the filings to check next.
  • Assuming an LLC must file an annual report. Arizona LLCs are not required to file one, but for-profit corporations are.

Other filings a food business needs

A food handler card covers your workers. The business itself has separate filings, and each one is listed below.

  • No general state business license. Arizona issues no single statewide business license. Businesses with taxable sales usually need a Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) license from the Arizona Department of Revenue, which costs $12 per location. Start at the Department of Revenue TPT license page.
  • City licenses. Many cities require their own business or TPT license on top of the state license. Counties issue no general business license, so the city is the next place to check.
  • Entity filings. An LLC files Articles of Organization (Form L010) with the Arizona Corporation Commission for a $50 filing fee. Arizona LLCs are not required to file annual reports, but for-profit corporations must file one, with a $45 fee. Start at the Corporation Commission corporations page and file online through the Arizona Business Center.
  • Trade names. If you operate under a name other than your registered entity name, register that trade name with the Arizona Secretary of State, Business Services Division. Trade name registration is optional and separate from the Corporation Commission filing. See the Secretary of State trade name page.
  • LLC publication. An LLC must publish notice unless its statutory agent's county is Maricopa or Pima.
  • Contractors. The Registrar of Contractors licenses contractors. If you hire someone for a kitchen build-out, confirm the contractor's license with that agency before work starts.
  • Income tax. Arizona's individual income tax is a flat 2.5 percent. An LLC passes its income through to its members, who pay that rate on their share.

Before you hire or open

Work through these steps in order so you do not pay for the wrong course or miss a filing:

  1. Confirm the county rule for trained food workers and the deadline.
  2. Buy a course that county accepts, and keep every certificate on file.
  3. Register your entity and any trade name, then apply for your TPT license and check city requirements.
  4. Verify any contractor's license before a build-out begins.

If your situation spans more than one county, includes cottage food sales, or involves a new entity, talk with a qualified attorney or CPA before you commit. Verify every fee and deadline on the agency page before you file or pay.

Keep exploring: related Arizona guides